2019 scholarships update

The club has awarded $23,000 to 11 recipients who will be attending Ohio State in the fall of 2019. Included in the total amount, is our first-year renewable scholarship, “The Big 10 Thousand”. The selected student will receive $10,000 over their four years of undergraduate study. The first recipient of this new award is Sarah Lord from Mount Vernon High School. At Ohio State, she plans to study Chemical Engineering.

We also awarded four one-time freshman scholarships to:

  • Heath Myers of Centerburg High School
  • Sean Magers of East Knox High School
  • Jonathan Crow of Mount Vernon High School
  • Garrett Carroll of the Knox County Career Center

Our upperclassmen one-time scholarship recipients are:

  • Lauren Keaton
  • Milan Pozderac
  • Gabriel Coffing
  • Holly McClay
  • Mary Harris
  • Rebecca McCarty

Our scholarships are merit-based and awarded annually. The scholarship application deadline is in January. Club members may volunteer to participate in the selection process by contacting a board member.

Committee members this year were:

  • Janet Boone
  • Sabrina Pugh
  • Rich York
  • Dave Daniels
  • Jan Schild
  • Audrey Spearman